Foods on Fridays

So I thought that I’d “end” each week with a short recap of my food trends for the week. I’m starting my gigantic take home midterm today, so I had to write this post out in advance, but my food habits have been pretty boring this week anyway.

I’ve mentioned a couple of times (I think) now that I’m trying to get at least 100g of protein per day. Throughout my weight loss, I focused on calories at the expense of focusing on anything else. I never did anything as drastic as eat nothing but 1200 calories of chocolate cake, but I absolutely did not focus on nutrition at all. Now, I’m slowly trying to get into a slightly better focus on nutrition, and I’m taking baby steps: remember, I know almost nothing about it. One thing I have read, though, is that you should aim to get about 1g of protein per pound of lean body mass in order to help active muscles recover. I don’t know my body fat percentage, but I’m going to guess it is somewhere between 20-30% (honestly, I have no idea, though). If it does fall in this range, that means that at 127 pounds, I have between 88 and 101 pounds of lean body mass. I figured 100g would be a reasonable goal, then.

What I’m trying to do to work toward this goal is prepare myself some meals and snacks throughout the week that I know will be high in protein. I love love love fruit but it is unfortunately low in protein. Luckily, I also like nuts (peanut butter counts..right?) and cheese. But in addition to stuffing my face full of peanut butter, I tried to add in a new snack with higher protein content: these. They have a lot of protein as they contain greek yogurt, which is pretty much my favorite food (I eat it almost EVERY day for breakfast). For my meals this week, I finally cooked up some canned venison my dad had given me into a stew. This recipe seems good, but I used some beef broth in lieu of water (it was on the canned venison already) and I had to use more water than it called for. I also didn’t have bay leaves so I just ignored that part. I served it over some whole wheat “wide style” noodles instead of egg noodles, and they surprisingly have 9g of protein per serving! Wow!

With all of the protein in the stew (meat + noodles ~ 50g), I have easily made my target of 100g everyday so far this week. My roommate is making me dinner tonight, and I don’t know what it is, but I think it’s teriyaki chicken, so I’m sure there will be lots of protein in the chicken and I will get close to my goal, even if I do not surpass it. I have focused on adding cheese and peanut butter to my fruit snacks, too, which I am sure will help on days where I am not blessed with such awesome meatiness. One thing I did notice, though – I seemed to ingest proteins at the expense of fats, rather than at the expense of carbs. I should maybe pay close attention to this trend in the future.

Leave a Reply

