What did I get Myself Into?

I signed up for my first 5K on Saturday, and I am super duper nervous.

This sort of relates to my nervousness about the gym – in general, I have a fear of being places that I’m not “supposed” to be. So, like I am afraid of standing in the wrong place while lifting at the gym, I am afraid of participating in a race. What if I show up to early? What if everyone else is running with teams? What if everyone else who shows up is a member of a particular organization? For example, the race I signed up for is put on by the business school at my university – what if I am the only non-business student/professor there?

Now that I’ve signed up, though, I have to go. I’d also be too nervous that somewhere there would know me and then notice that I didn’t show up. Plus, the people I’ve told would probably be disappointed in me.

The good news is that I feel pretty prepared for the race. The weather should be pretty nice, and I have been running a pretty consistent 9:00/mile pace, so I think I will certainly complete it, and hopefully in under 30 minutes. I’ve also read a bit about what I should expect at my first race, etc. My only question I’m still trying to figure out – my training plan had me running 3 miles on Friday and 5 on Saturday. So do I run 5 miles Friday and the 3 miles when I do the race on Saturday, or not do the long run at all and shift my long runs by a week (there is another 5K built into the program later so this wouldn’t change much). It will probably depend on how my legs feel on Friday. I guess I could always choose not to do the 3 mile run on Friday as well and then shift my long run to Sunday? We shall see. It’s not like I’m trying to do amazing at this race or anything – it’s just a trial run!

3 thoughts on “What did I get Myself Into?

  1. You probably want a recovery day somewhere in there so you’re not tired for the big race. And dont worry! 5k’s are full of beginners so i’m sure you won’t be alone.

  2. Good luck at your race!! I would skip the Friday run or do an easy (less than 20 minutes) run to loosen up and move the long 5 miler to Sunday. You will be great! The energy at races is always fantastic- just remember you’re there to run your own race. 🙂 Have fun!

  3. Thanks so much for the advice, guys! I think I’ll do my normal strength workout on Friday (it’s not legs) and then maybe walk a bit to make sure I’m not stiff and move the long run to Sunday. Your comments have helped me to feel a little more excited than nervous, too!

Leave a Reply

