Foods on Fridays

I’ve been having a meh sort of week, calorie-wise. On both Monday and Thursday I only went over a little bit, but both times were because of eating desserts that I wasn’t actually hungry for at restaurants, so I didn’t feel very good about it.

Also, even though I was like not hungry at all on Wednesday, which made up for it, on Tuesday I was like insatiably hungry all day. I ended up eating 4 slices of pizza for dinner and went to bed starving! I know that if I still felt that hungry after eating all that much there must have been something that my body was telling me, and that I shouldn’t feel bad about it, but I did.

So, while my calorie intake for the week will probably be ok, I don’t feel the happiest or healthiest about most of the choices that I made. I’m going out to dinner tonight, too, so I’m afraid that I’ll make a poor choice again. It seems like I’ve been doing worse since I came back to school because there are a lot of events and I eat at restaurants a lot. I just need to remind myself that in general, I made fairly good choices – for example, “treating” myself when I go out might be getting a 250 calorie side with everything else on my plate being super healthy (i.e. a 6 oz steak and broccoli with mashed potatoes being the treat). I just did so much better at navigating the land of college eating when I was losing weight (and had even fewer calories to spare!) than I am doing now that I am maintaining, and I’m not really sure why.

I’ve been doing better with the fear that going over by just a few calories will make me instantly gain back 100 pounds, but this week has brought back thoughts of regaining – every time I tell myself it’s ok to go over on calories is me slipping backwards in my head. It doesn’t make much sense – I weigh and measure myself, so I would know if I was having an upward trend and just do a small calorie deficit for awhile! I guess I’m just incredibly afraid of slipping backwards sometimes, especially with the statistics out there on keeping weight off (haven’t you heard that 95% of diets fail?!?!).

The good food news: those almonds I mentioned yesterday, and Wasa crackers. I had never tried Wasa crackers, but I saw someone mention eating them as a snack with lunchmeat and cheese (or something like that) the other day. I bought a box to try, and they are pretty good. I like having a crunchy receptacle for things like cheeses so I’m always buying crackers, even though they are not the most filling for their calorie level. These crackers, however, have only 40 calories per “cracker” (they are large, like the size of a graham cracker, not tiny like a normal cracker). I ate one with some garlic hummus, a cheese stick, and a beef stick yesterday and it was pretty good! I think I might have to start keeping these around instead of Wheat Thins/Triscuits.

Also, when I am actually eating at home, I have been making one particularly awesome choice. Lunch this week has been sweet potatoes topped with brown sugar chicken, with a side of mandarin oranges and steamed broccoli. I’m not really a recipe person (I don’t make them, I follow them), but here is how I do the potato-chicken thing:

Ingredients:

1 sweet potato

1-2 teaspoons of butter/butter substitute

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp sugar substitute (or sugar, its only 15 calories a teaspoon)

4 oz chicken (I used chicken breast tenderloins)

1 tsp minced garlic

1 tbsp brown sugar

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

In a pan coated in cooking spray, brown garlic, salt, and pepper. Cut up chicken into small pieces and add to pan. Meanwhile, put sweet potato in to bake (if in microwave, if you bake in oven put it in first). Once chicken is cooked through, add brown sugar. You will need to stir it pretty frequently to keep the melted sugar from clumping up. Once sweet potato has finished baking, top with butter, cinnamon, sugar substitute, and the chicken.

This whole thing (covers almost an entire plate!) is about 270 calories, depending on variation in your individual ingredients (i.e. if you use a bigger potato or chicken thighs or something).

 

Leave a Reply

