Getting Stronger?

So, today, I went to the gym and was over 130 for the first time in awhile. This was sort of surprising considering that my jeans still fit straight out of the dryer and my measurements seemingly haven’t changed. So it was either a weird fluke or…

…I’m gaining muscle?!

Gaining muscle would be pretty cool. I have two reasons that I am doing strength training. The first is that I have heard that it can help your running times. The second is to build muscle. I’m not sure how much I’ve mentioned this on here, but I have some major loose skin issues, and building muscle would hopefully help to fill that out. That would be lovely*.

At least I know I am getting stronger! Or I’m at least less scared of the weights and more able to lift at my actual level. I’m about halfway through Stage 1 of New Rules of Lifting for Women now, and I have been keeping a spreadsheet of my lifts. Some things (dumbell shoulder press, I’m looking at you!) I haven’t made much progress on, but other things have amazed me. My first time I did deadlifts, I tentatively grabbed two 15 pound dumbbells, and as of last week, I was only using two 20 pound ones.  Today I deadlifted a 60 pound barbell! I will probably try to do the real bar + 20 pounds next time (so 65 pounds). I really wanted to prove to myself that I could lift more weight than that bar without injuring myself before I tried to add anything to it (and you can’t exactly deadlift the plain bar, since you wouldn’t be able to put your feet under it…).

As I mentioned earlier this week, I’ve also made great strides in terms of confidence. I did my whole workout in the regular free weight area today! Whoo me! I mean, I’ll still have to go to another room for things with steps and yoga mats, but that isn’t due to me, it’s due to gym set up. Apparently gym bros don’t need steps?

Here’s hoping that the strength that I put into lifting will get me through this last month of classes! I have so many exams and papers and omgwhyamIingradschoolagain.

*Note, I’m not super bothered by the loose skin or anything, so I don’t need anyone to tell me that I’m a tiger and I earned my stripes or whatever. I wear shorts and tanks in public and know that others can just deal with seeing my weird skin. I’m cool with it. I just would prefer it to be a little bit less weird looking! I think I’m actually going to do a post on my body image soon, so I can elaborate then. In the meantime, don’t worry, I’m cool.

Leave a Reply

