Foods on Fridays

So I got to test out my new running shoes today, and I think it went well! I had some pain in my right IT Band, but I think it was because it was cold and rainy outside and I am not used to stabilizing myself in these shoes yet (the tread is a little less grippy) and my IT Band always feels tight when it’s cold and it hasn’t been coldy for a while.

Today was sort of a weird day. I had been planning on doing my long run on Saturday, like normal, even though I am going to a conference tomorrow, because I was going to be getting a take home final today. My professor decided to send out our final early, though (due to the conference) so I am far far ahead of where I planned to be at this point. So I decided to do my long run (7 miles) today rather than on the hotel treadmill after a long day tomorrow (why am I waking up at 4AM again??). I don’t normally run so far after lifting, though, and my back was hurting from my deadlifts the whole darn time. Plus, I decided it would be “simple” to take a 7 mile route I found on runkeeper that conveniently started at my university’s gym…without realizing it was full of hills! So it was cold, rainy, my back and knee hurt, and I was on an unfamiliar hilly trail. I still kept a good pace and finished the run, though, and that is what matters.

Anyway, this post is supposed to be about food. I am feeling very good about my eating habits this week. I had been eating out a lot and working in an excessive amount of treats, and I was feeling kind of bloaty, even though my measurements said I was the same size. Eating healthyfully always makes me feel “thinner,” even if I’m not thinner. Maybe I’m just weird. But today, I want to devote this post to my new “favorite” food. I mean, pizza and ice cream will forever be my favorites. But this is a food I had literally never eaten until I started losing weight, and it has entered my top favorite foods of all time: greek yogurt.

This stuff is literally the best. You can eat it at any meal. You can eat it as a snack. You can mix almost anything with it. In its plain form, you can use it in place of sour cream. You can bake with it. It’s full of protein and super creamy and super versatile and I don’t know how I lived without it.

Some of my favorite things to mix with greek yogurt:

  • Peanut butter
  • Jelly
  • Bananas (and some other fruits)
  • Granola, obviously
  • Almonds
  • Honey
  • Chocolate
  • See? It goes with everything.

The only problem: it’s also sort of pricey. Part of this is that I am picky. For most foods, I will buy generic/store brands. There are only a few things that are an exception (Heinz ketchup and certain brands of peanut butter are examples). Greek yogurt is one of these exceptions. I have tried to force myself to eat the Kroger brand. I have even tried forcing myself to eat the cheaper name brands (like Yoplait). They are all ok, but none are as good as Chobani. Fage is ok, but I like Chobani more (also, I have found that I like Aldi brand, but Aldi sells Fage super cheap, so I always buy it when I’m there). It tastes creamier for some reason.

Last week, I found a new reason to love Chobani:

Not only is this a super conveniently packaged yogurt (I don’t have to put all that crap in there myself), but it has a pun on it. A PUN. Ok, maybe I’m a little too excited about the pun, but still. It’s super cool.

I haven’t actually gotten to eat this yet, so I don’t know if it will taste as good as if I made this concoction myself, but I’m pretty excited. I love buying a giant tub of plain yogurt and adding things to it to create variation, but I do like these little pre-packaged things for when I’m feeling lazy or when I want it to be more portable. I bought some of these in another brand before, so I’m hoping the Chobani ones are just as good.

Food goal for the weekend: eat a reasonable amount of Chicago style pizza while I’m at my conference and try not to give into the temptation to eat one of everything from the pastry table they will probably have for us in my hotel in the morning.

Leave a Reply

