Foods on Fridays

Nothing too exciting to report in terms of new foods this week – due to moving over the weekend and a lengthy trip to PA coming up early next week, I have very little food at my house and have been subsisting off of trail mix, peanut butter and jelly, and cheesesticks. I mean, I have some like chicken breasts and broccoli in the freezer but largely I’ve been too busy to cook, anyway. I did have yummy Mexican food twice, at least – once at a restaurant my roommate and I hadn’t tried yet (it was a chain, but it was good), and once at a place that is like a local version of Chipolte. It is set up the same way, but they make like fresh tortillas and everything tastes better so it is preferable.

The one thing: I have gone over my calories almost every day this week. For some reason, I’ve just been insatiably hungry! I also kept binging on the aforementioned trail mix – just eating handful after handful. It is finally gone and I will no longer be able to to eat it like this. However, I am having a party tonight (house “cooling” party in honor of having working AC finally) so I imagine I will do something bingey there. It never fails that I mess up at parties – at least I’m not planning on drinking a lot, which is a major reason that I overeat at parties (drunk me has no calorie logic)  – it seems like a bad idea to get drunk a week before a half marathon! At least it seems like I haven’t actually bloated up or anything from all this overeating – other than the trail mix binging, I’ve been legit hungry, so perhaps my body needed this food, but I’m not sure what I would have done to increase my activity level that I’m not accounting for. The only thing I can think of is residual caloric needs from deciding it was a good idea to run a practice half marathon then spend the rest of that day and the whole next day moving, which probably burnt something like 3,000-4,000 calories.

In better news, today is the last day of my summer class! I just have to give their final, grade it, and then spend the weekend doing fun things like hosting and going to parties ! I guess I have to start my summer research project (I really lucked out and got hired as both an instructor and an RA this summer) but I’m actually kind of excited about that, too.

Also, weird random thing: I’ve been waking up at exactly 6:10, even though my alarm is not supposed to go off until 6:30. I’ve been getting up because I usually feel crappy if I wake up naturally but then let myself go back to sleep. At first I thought it was just that I was waking up naturally at that time (had gone to bed around 10 pm), but after a couple of later nights where the extra 20 minutes would make sense, I’m wondering if there is some kind of particular noise or something that is waking me up.

Leave a Reply

