Foods on Fridays: Anniversary Edition

Today, June 14, is a big day for me.

On June 14, 2011, I logged into MyFitnessPal for the first time.

That’s right – two years ago today, I decided I was going to start making healthier diet and exercise choices. I guess that so far that decision has worked out – I just checked, and I am still maintaining my 115 lb loss, despite a couple of questionable choices over the last weeks. Before discussing my nutritional choices this week, I thought I’d take a brief trip down memory lane.

Here is the food diary from my first day of “dieting:”

Breakfast:

  • Greek yogurt with strawberries
  • Toast with butter and peanut butter (wtf brain? why both?)
  • Coffee with cream (glad I kicked this habit – now I only drink cream when away from home)

Lunch:

  • Homemade pizza bagel (mini bagel with garlic herb laughing cow, sauce, mushrooms, and turkey pepperoni)
  • Crystal light lemonade (before I really enjoyed drinking water, I guess)

Snack:

  • Apple
  • Laughing Cow Babybell (can you tell I had a major laughing cow cheese thing going?)

Dinner:

  • Chicken tacos on whole wheat tortillas with lettuce and greek yogurt on top
  • “Nachos” (tortilla chips with a laughing cow jalepeno cheese wedge)

Dessert:

  • Sugar free vanilla ice cream topped with strawberries, sugar free chocolate syrup, and light whipped cream

Total Calories: 1582

I also spent about an hour walking, burning about 450 calories!

Things that are different now? I am apparently way less obsessed with laughing cow cheese. I also eat a bit less processed food – at the time, those pizza bagels seemed like the healthiest most awesome lunch in the world, and now they sound kind of gross. I also bought some sugar free chocolate syrup for my ice cream the other day and it was so gross to me that I ended up tricking drunk people into eating it at a party instead. Sadly, I also burn wayyyy less calories. Today, I am going to take the dog on a one hour walk, which will burn less than 200 calories due to my new body (also I was walking faster than the dog walks that day, because only part of that one hour was walking the dog, and the rest was like fitness walking).

Things that are largely the same? I still love greek yogurt, do love cheese in general, and tend to eat more of my calories later in the day (small breakfast and lunch with an afternoon snack, dinner, and dessert). I think this is why my new lifestyle was/has been sustainable – I started out “small,” just trying to eat like a “normal” person and not pushing myself to change anything other than the amount of calories I eat, rather than outright banning foods or trying to eat nothing but “healthy” things. When I was 240 pounds, that did not seem intimidating, and now that I am 125, it remains something reasonable that I can stick with every day for the rest of my life. I had always thought dieting would have to be miserable and awful – but these first few days on MyFitnessPal showed me that on a day to day basis, it was not that different from what I had been doing – I just had to be a lot more careful with declaring every trip to a fast food restaurant a special occasion that called for a 1/2 lb bacon burger and a chocolate shake (declaring everything a “special occasion” that called for overeating was probably my biggest problem). I remember thinking how easy it was at first, and being very surprised. I recently checked, and it took me 2 weeks to cheat on my diet. As far as I am concerned, the “cheating,” in retrospect, was simply experiencing certain things for the first time during the diet and not knowing how to deal with them. For example, I had out of town guests, and I was still in “if I don’t eat as much as them or make them unhealthy food they will judge me” mode. Also, I started having some health problems at that time (related to my lady parts, not my weight) and was very stressed out, and  I hadn’t experience stress while doing this diet before. Other than adapting to new situations, then, it was pretty “easy,” as far as diets go. I don’t find it easy everyday, but I do find it manageable, and that is what is important!

Now back to the present!

This week, I largely made decent food choices. I’ve been trying not to eat tooooo much junk because of my race, but I did have a pretty epic fail when traveling on Wednesday. I have been doing really well with my no alcohol this week rule, though, despite my husband filling our fridge with a variety of local beers! Let’s say I can’t wait to until Saturday to bust out the Troegs, if he leaves any for me! Who knew pretzel bites would have like 400 calories? Also: DO NOT TRY THE FROSTY WAFFLE CONES. You have been warned. The Frosty is too melty, the cone had so much sodium it dried out my lips and made me kind of miserable, and it tasted really really bland. Also, I only got it because I thought my phone said 160 calories at first glance but it was apparently 290!!!! Yuck! Other than that day, I have not gone majorly over my calories, and I have eaten some really great things – homemade alfredo sauce on Monday (just very light on the heavy whipping cream, so it was kind of thin, but still enough for the taste); out for stir-fry on Tuesday; and teriyaki chicken with grilled peppers, onions, pineapples, fresh corn on the cob and baked potatoes for dinner last night! Side note: a side effect of healthy eating is that there are onions in almost all “healthy” dishes at restaurants, and I don’t like onions, but always feel self conscious of ordering things without onions (and the restaurant never gets it right anyway) so I have been trying to force myself to suffer through them, only to acquire a taste for them. Last night was the first time I have ever purposefully included onions in a dish intended for myself. It was also our first time using a charcoal grill, and it went okay – mostly it was too small for all the food so the veggies ended up being sauteed on the stove.

Food plan for today and tomorrow, with the race in mind:

Breakfast today:

  • Greek yogurt pancakes (apple cinnamon)
  • Black coffee! (haha I drink this everyday, just had to juxtapose with my old half and half habit)

Lunch today:

  • Leftover Philly cheesesteak pizza
  • Cheddar rice cakes
  • Peach

Dinner today:

  • Lasagna with spicy italian sausage
  • Garlic bread

Dessert today:

  • I have to drive down to get my race packet, so maybe I’ll talk my husband into ice cream out, but we have cookie dough ice cream here otherwise

I’ll fill in the rest of the calories with snacks. I’m planning on having a small amount of calories over today (like 100-200) just so that I am not accidentally weakened by a deficit (I always run better the day after overeating, as long as I didn’t overeat like french fries or something greasy and sodium laden like that).

Breakfast tomorrow:

  • Cinnamon raisin bagel
  • Neufchatel cheese

Race nutrition:

  • Clif shot bloks

Post-race nutrition:

  • WHATEVER I WANT
  • Just kidding, they are having some brunch thing that I’ll probably eat at, or, if it looks crappy, maybe a gigantic burger and beer. Or maybe I’ll save that for dinner?

Eeek! I can’t believe the race is tomorrow. I plan on getting everything ready and laying it out tonight so that I can be up and ready to go by 5:30 tomorrow morning. It looks like it’s going to be a beautiful day – I’m so excited! 🙂

Leave a Reply

