What is wrong with me today?!

Today I had 3 miles race pace scheduled. I wasn’t TOO terribly concerned about it, because while my pace seems to have slowed lately, I typically run 3 miles at a faster pace than that even on easy days. Also, after my sub-25 minute 5K a couple weeks ago, I was thinking that I could probably push myself to run at least an 8:30 pace if I really pushed myself.

I kind of procrastinated about getting out the door this morning, so perhaps it was a little too hot and humid, but my performance was TERRIBLE. I was pushing myself as hard as I could – I was literally out of breath and gasping for air near the end, and I even felt sick, and I still BARELY managed to break 9:00 per mile. WTF. I was miserable the entire time and at one point even thought about how I should just give up on running and not do my half marathon. I’m not even kidding, that’s how bad the run was. In retrospect, I feel ridiculous about thinking that. Yes, I have been having some difficulty lately with running, and my pace has slowed, but I’m sure I’ll be able to run my half as long as I get the training in! I might not PR, but not every race can be a PR. 

I am curious as to why my performance has suffered so much latelyday, especially to. I mean, why was a run that barely squeaked in under 9:00 per mile so much harder than my 8:40 per mile pace I ran as an “easy” run on Thursday? Yes, it was on a treadmill, but I always use an incline on the treadmill to make it harder, so I doubt that is really the reason. Perhaps it is because the weather is so hot and humid still? Perhaps I am over-training with all the biking and increasing my running mileage? Perhaps it is because I didn’t work hard enough this summer? Who knows. I’m just very frustrated (though not frustrated enough to drop out of my race!) and I wish I could figure out how to fix whatever is wrong with my running lately 😦

2 thoughts on “What is wrong with me today?!

Leave a Reply

