Explaining My Hiatus and Friend Makin Monday

Huge apologies for my basically 2 (or was it even 3?) week absence. The short version is that I started a new program here at my university and got so far in over my head that I was doing nothing buy studying or having panic attacks 18 hours a day. I tried to stick it out, because I didn’t know what else to do, but eventually became so miserable that I found a solution. The situation is finally about 99% resolved (I still have to deal with an advisor that I have trouble communicating with via email) so I think I can finally return to a somewhat normal existence.

I have a lot of things I want to blog about stored up from all of that time off, but for today, I’ll just do a simple Friend Makin Monday post.

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!
 
Relationships and Dating

1.  List five characteristics that you think are important in a significant other. 

He needs to be supportive, willing to communicate, trusting/noncontrolling (I consider this one characteristic, but I didn’t have one word for it), able to take care of himself (not like financially independent or anything – I just mean I won’t be his mom) and as equally clingy as me (so that I don’t come off as being weird). Luckily these things apply to my husband (hi bunny!).
2.  If you had to choose between staying single for the next two years (as in, no dating at all,) or receiving $10,000, which would you choose?  
Well, since I’m married, I’ll just not date anyone else and we get $10K, right?

In all seriousness, if I was a single person, I’d chose the option of having relationships. I don’t like being alone.
3.  What is your relationship status?  Are you satisfied with it?
I’m married.  We’ve been married just over a year and together for 6, with about 4 of that (including a large portion of our year of marriage) being long distance. Being long distance actually helps me to realize how satisfied I am – I wouldn’t put up with this shit if I wasn’t very invested in keeping the relationship alive.
4.  Would you date someone who has children?  

Hmmm, I thought this would be a fun post to do, but it keeps putting me into really weird hypotheticals since I’m married. I love kids, though, so I would be fine with dating someone who had them in this weird imaginary world.
5.  Would you date someone who’s shorter than you?  
Yes, I have in the past. I was more self-conscious about him weighing less than me. Though, to be fair, I was really nervous that my wedding shoes (4 inch heels) would make me taller than Kris at our wedding for his sake.

6.  Would you date someone who has different political views? 
No, I like to discuss politics but don’t like to be mad. Funny story about this – in high school, we had to fill out this form for Valentine’s day where you ranked 25 things in order of how important they were in your significant others. I was the only person in the whole school other than a teacher that filled it out as an example to show us how that put political views in my top 10.

7.  If you were going on vacation together, would you choose the beach or the mountains?  
The mountains. I have a rant for another day about how much I hate the ocean. Ironically, we have been on a beach vacation but not a mountain vacation, and plan to take another beach vacation, because that is what his family does and I enjoy spending time with his family (and seeing him get to spend time with them) more than I hate the beach.  Because as long as I don’t go in the ocean, it can be okay.

8.  How do you show someone that you’re interested in them?  
Apparently I mostly just talk to them a lot and always make sure they are paying attention to what I am saying or something like that. At least that is what Kris says. I was never really shy about just telling guys I was interested in the past, though. Amusingly, I did not do this with Kris – I assumed that he wouldn’t care to know I was interested because I was so much younger than him (he was 21 and I was 17 when we started dating) so he had to chase me down!

9.  Do you prefer to date people who are older than you or younger? 
Older. I’ve always been one of the youngest people around in my groups of friends, so I’m accustomed to spending time with older people and find most people my own age or younger insufferable. If I had continued to date in my 20s, though, this probably would not have been such an issue. I also wouldn’t want to go too old, though, because then guys get into “old enough to be my dad” range very quickly due to my dad’s young age.

10.  Share some details of your dream date. 
I’m really boring. As long as there is food I’m probably ok with it.

Now it’s your turn to answer this week’s questions!  Don’t forget to come back and link up in the comments!  Say hello to someone new too!  Happy Monday, friends!

4 thoughts on “Explaining My Hiatus and Friend Makin Monday

Leave a Reply

