Food Friday

A couple of weeks ago, my roomie/bff and I were at Target when we spotted a great deal.

Not only were the Dunkin’ Donuts coffees the CHEAPEST in the store – if you bought 2 of them, you got a free coffee mug! We couldn’t turn down that deal. We bought 2 types of coffee then went back a different day for more (though sadly, the second time they were out of mugs).

It has taken us a while to get through the various coffees, but last week, we opened the most amazing of them. Apparently, they make chocolate glazed donut coffee. And it seriously tastes like a chocolate donut! I highly recommend this coffee flavor (it is slightly better with milk and sugar).

Additionally, I tried a new recipe today. It is not often that something on Pinterest is truly inspiring. Either it is something that I would refer back to later (i.e. a good recipe in case a certain occasion comes up) or it is so difficult I don’t even want to attempt it (I have a recipe for creme brulee cheesecake pinned. Seriously.) The other day, though, I saw this recipe for a baked cinnamon quinoa dish, and IMMEDIATELY opened it to gauge the difficulty level. It didn’t seem too difficult, so I gave it a try today. It turned out rather well!

I ate it as an afternoon snack, but I think it would be better for breakfast. It also suggests serving it with nut butter but I thought that almond butter would taste better than peanut butter with it and I only had peanut butter so I just ate it plain. I think it would also go well with some nuts or dried fruit baked into it, so next time I’ll try that.

In non-food related news, I’m getting really nervous for my race on Sunday. It is supposed to be cool…but rainy. Every time I check the weather the chances of rain have increased, in fact – from 40% to 70%! I HATE running in the rain because of my glasses and I can only imagine what rain is going to do to the already muddy trail.  If it is too rainy, I might not go for my own safety – if I can’t see, I am sure to fall in the woods. I’m going to try really hard to go, though, because I am afraid I would just be chickening out because races make me nervous in the first place. I don’t know why – it’s not like I’m really “racing” anyone by myself! This being my “first” 10K (I mean, I’ve run 6.2 miles a billion times) and my first trail race isn’t helping, either. Plus I’m not sure where I’m going to park. Obviously I am worrying over a bunch of silly things, but that is how I am. I guess we will see how Sunday goes!

5 thoughts on “Food Friday

Leave a Reply

