Weather Woes

The weather lately has been sooooo frustrating.

First of all, it is supposed to be fall and it has been SUPER WARM. It has been, at the very least, in the high 70s every day, and on some days it has been in the 80s! I have been insisting on trying to wear boots and sweaters, but it hasn’t been working out to well, even for a person like me who is cold all the time. Also, pumpkin spice lattes (well, really pumpkin anything) don’t taste quite as good iced – they need to be warm for the full effect, and it has been too warm to drink warm things, really. I am going home to visit my family this weekend and my mother warned me to pack shorts. I was a bit surprised at this advice (it is typically colder there than it is here) but then I looked at their forecast:

Because of my perpetual coldness, I might not need shorts, but she wasn’t that far off. And then, the only cool day is rainy! Ugh! Last year when I was home visiting my family over this weekend it was in the 40s and raining the whole time. I had to buy an extra jacket because the one I brought wasn’t warm enough!

In addition to the heat, the summer humidity seems to have made a reappearance. It is at least somewhat chilly in the morning, though, resulting in every day beginning with this weird rain mist thing going on. I’ve tried riding my bike in it since it’s not “really” raining and it has still bee less than pleasant – the humidity makes me far sweatier than I typically would be at these temps. Also, I keep running into days where it is chilly and rainy in the morning so I don’t ride, but then when I am out on campus or heading home later in the day I regret this decision because the weather is beautiful.

And don’t even get me started on how this weather has been impacting my runs! The heat and humidity both REALLY slow me down, which I am sure you are all tired of hearing about by now. It is just so hard to breathe when the air is thick like that and I run really slowly, can hardly breathe, and often feel miserable and sick afterwards. This is not how I normally feel while/after running and I am not enjoying it one bit. I am especially not looking forward to my 11 miler this weekend on a sunny, 80 degree day. Hopefully it takes a long time to warm up and it is cool for me in the morning! I am also starting to get nervous that since it has been so warm thus far the weather will not have cooled down before my half marathon on the 19th. I guess my previous one that I ran was in June, but I was really assuming I’d be running this one in the cold, so I’m rather annoyed. I want to be able to wear the long-sleeved tee they are giving us at some point in the future, and that would require cool weather (ok, it never being cool enough to wear a long-sleeved tee again is a bit of a hyperbole).

I’ll try to prep some posts to go up while I’m out of town, but if I disappear, it’s because I’m having too much fun with my wonderful little doggie and the rest of my family. Speaking of Belle, did you know that October is National Pitbull Awareness Month? I’m not trying to steal breast cancer’s thunder, here, but it already receives a lot of attention and the pitbull month is a relatively new designation so I thought I’d make you aware of it (hah!). Remember, everyone: pitbulls are hyperactive creatures with demon eyes sweet little doggies who just want to share their enthusiasm with the world!

Sorrynotsorry I put this picture of you sleeping up on the internet, Kris.

My goals for my trip to see my family:

  • Don’t overeat in ridiculous amounts on the drive. I mean, I’ll probably go over my calorie limit, but no impulse buying of DQ blizzards.
  • Don’t get lost trying to find an 11 mile running route in the woods.
  • Keep maintaining my weight. I’ve been “up” a little bit the past few weeks (like 3-5 lbs, nothing major) but I didn’t want to cut calories while at 30ish miles per week with races coming up, so I’ve just been trying to keep my weight the same. I have a tendency to “bloat up” while visiting my family though. This typically goes away once I’m eating like normal again, but I’d like to stay on track as best as possible.
One thought on “Weather Woes

Leave a Reply

