Food Friday/Race Prep

Before I begin with my discussion of this week’s food, I have a story to tell.

Yesterday, I was driving home from the store, when I got into my FIFTH car wreck. Yes, that is right, FIVE – and only 1.5 have been my fault (I once legit ran into a tree because young and wreckless; the 1/2 time I backed into someone who was driving too fast and texting). Don’t worry, it was very minor – I was rear-ended at a red light and everyone is ok! I also have a knack for being run into/running into people who are completely inexperienced with wrecks. So, I guess I should consider myself “lucky” to have had collisions as minor as the ones I have had and to be experienced at wrecks so I can help to calm the others involved. I felt so bad for the woman who hit me. My roommate (who was in the car) and I had basically had the reaction of “sigh, not again,” which I have a feeling is not normal. Also, I at least know where to get it fixed in town, now! My only complaint: this is a brand new bumper (replaced last time I was rear-ended) and it is like destroyed while I couldn’t even see a scratch on the other person’s late 90s Pontiac. I’m not surprised – my old Pontiac sucked up all my money (15 mpg), but at least it was a beast! Side note: nothing will ever compare to the tank-like nature of my first car: a Buick Skylark that was older than me. RIP Buick 😥

My poor little car. Perhaps people are attracted to the orange paint?


So where was I? Oh yeah, food! This week I actually cooked somethings, so I actually have something to talk about!

First of all, remember the cinnamon quinoa I made a couple of weeks ago? I made it again, so that I could eat it for breakfast before my race, but I substituted splenda for syrup this time. I much preferred this, as it made the cake-thing drier and it held together better. I’ve been eating it this week with fruit preserves and my cocoa almonds. I highly recommend this mixture of foods!

I also tried a new experiment with butternut squash: serving it with peanut sauce. I grilled a piece of salmon and sauteed the squash in oil, then added the peanut sauce after it started to get tender. There were a couple of problems with this meal, though. First, I did not make the peanut sauce liquidy enough, even though I used WAY more soy sauce than the motivating recipe (not posted because I changed a lot of things and it is not really a good recipe) called for, so it was sort of sticky. Second, the salmon, which the recipe said to just grill in some oil, was kind of bland due to the lack of other seasonings (I did add pepper and garlic salt). It didn’t help that my rice was too dry :/ I will probably try an experiment with butternut squash again tonight for dinner.

The butternut squash with peanut sauce did taste pretty good in the end, though!

I also finally made something pumpkin! My mom sent me a recipe for pumpkin muffins a couple of weeks ago, and I of course altered it. The original was apparently the “National Honey Board” which is somewhat ironic because I (accidentally) left out the honey. She only sent me a document with it, though, so I can’t link it. I will instead post the recipe as I did it for your enjoyment, though:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 c butter, softened
  • 3/4 c sugar substitute (or honey?)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 15 oz. can pumpkin
  • 1 c white chocolate chips (it called for walnuts, which I am sure would be good)

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Set aside. Mix butter, sweetener, egg, and pumpkin. Add flour mixture slowly and mix. Mix in chocolate chips. Spoon into muffin cups. Bake for about 25 minutes. Makes 12. Mine are about 180 calories each.

Note: the original recipe called for honey, walnuts, and only 1 cup of pumpkin, so I really messed up and they turned out great!

Yummmmm!


Finally, I want to talk a bit about my race prep, since my race is tomorrow!!

My plan for this afternoon for the race was to go to the “expo,” which turned out to just be the two running stores selling some stuff and packet pick up; go for a long walk to stretch out my legs; and then prep my race clothes and equipment. I have accomplished all three!

Here is the “swag” I accrued at the “expo:”

The shirts are at least pretty nice – they are long-sleeved tech tees. I’m also fairly excited for my finisher’s medal, as I believe it is going to be a train (school mascot)! I don’t know how I feel about this food. The trail mix stuff looks good, but I am baffled by the cookie (I imagine it will taste great, though it seems like an unhealthy choice for a race bag) and I have no clue WTF corn thins are – I just hope they don’t suck. All of the other stuff in our packets was just coupons and ads. The ads did remind me that I need to sign up for the Indy Mini this year, though – I want to run on the Indy 500 track before I move away from this state that basically has nothing else exciting to offer.

You also may notice something new in the t-shirt photo…is that a new pair of running shoes? YES IT IS. I  knew I needed to buy new shoes after the half (don’t worry, still wearing old ones for half) because my old ones have holes in them, but I was going to put it off as long as possible because $$$. Then I found these Saucony Omni 11’s at TJ Maxx for $50. Yes, that is right: less than half of their original retail price ($120). By the way, if you need new running shoes, TJ Maxx had like 5 different styles of Saucony shoes for $50, so I’d advise going there. I am mildly nervous that I will have to return them, so I think I’ll take them to the gym for a very short workout to test them (so they don’t get too dirty and gross) but they should be fine as they are highly rated stability shoes (which is what I tend to wear). They aren’t as flashy as my Mizuno’s, but I’m ok with that (I’ll provide a thorough comparison of all three types I have tried in a later post).

In terms of other preparation activities, River and I went for a 2 mile walk in the beautiful fall weather. I am still kind of working on the last portion (packing up). I have all the clothes I am going to wear during the race laid out, and I have a bag with the race tee shirt and some extra leggings to wear after the race, but I am not sure what else to pack. Luckily, this race has a bag check, so I can take a few things, but I don’t want to make the bag too huge. I am thinking the tee and leggings, a water bottle, and my rainjacket. I will also probably leave my phone and keys in there so that all I have on me during the race is some Shot Bloks in my zipper pocket and my GPS watch (don’t worry, they will have water every 1.5 miles, and 3 or 4 powerade stations, as well as additional Shot Bloks at the turnaround, so I am not too worried about anything else). The only thing I am debating is whether I should put a luggage tag on it or not – I will probably leave my ID in there, but I don’t want it to get misplaced with all that valuable stuff in it!

 

Leave a Reply

