Food Friday

Lots of food to talk about today! Fall is one of my favorite times for food. Speaking of fall, the weather was MUCH improved today. It was 50 and sunny for my run this afternoon instead of freezing and wet. Yay!

I tried two new fall recipes this week. First, black bean quinoa chili. Being me, I pretty much completely messed around with the recipe.  It took me like 70 hours because I used dry black beans. Also, I didn’t add any onions or peppers. I also used this chili seasoning kit thing instead of all the seasoning they called for. I actually really liked that – I think the brand was Shelby’s? I bought it at Target. It had all the seasonings pre-measured and separate so you could adjust spiciness, sodium levels, and thickness. Oh, and I used ground cinnamon instead of a cinnamon stick. And I served it with sour cream and cheese instead of avocado. Because apparently I hate recipes. Anyway, it still turned out great!

All of my ingredients instead of those silly things the recipe called for.

 

Cooking! I did follow the cooking instructions.

The finished product. Very thick and yummy! And you would only need to add an additional tablespoon of chili powder if you were me, so disregard that.

My other new fall recipe was going to be pumpkin overnight oats in a jar. Due to the cold weather, however, I decided that the oats needed to be warm (and I may have forgotten to put the oats in the fridge before bed), so I googled around for some regular pumpkin oatmeal recipes to get some inspiration then did my own thing. Here was what I used:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • some nutmeg (like, a dash)
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon white chocolate chips

I cooked everything but the pumpkin and chocolate for 2 minutes in the microwave then added the pumpkin and cooked one more minute. I topped with the chocolate when I was done cooking. Next time, I would reduce the amount of pumpkin a bit, because I prefer thicker oatmeal. This would also taste very good with raisins, nuts, and more brown sugar.

Tada!

 

I also tried all of the foods I received in my goodie bag from my half marathon this week. The biscoff cookies and trail mix were disappointing. To be fair, neither were that bad, I simply had higher expectations. I expected biscoff cookies to taste more like cookie butter, but they weren’t as sweet. And the trail mix had dried apples that were way too small for me. They were basically so tiny I couldn’t taste them! Oh, and speaking of foods that disappoint me, why does everyone love bagel thins?? When Thomas’s came out with fall flavors (WHICH I STILL CAN’T FIND THANKS WALMART) I was so excited for them. Even though I couldn’t find the amazing sounding pumpkin or cranberry ones, I got a huge craving for bagels and bought cinnamon raisin ones. Maybe I just toasted them too much, but they were WAY too crunchy for my liking. I will try toasting them less and reevaluate. They taste fine – I just like my bagels a little softer.

What I did end up liking from my race goodie bag may surprise you, though. It surprised me, at least. You may recall my confusion at a product called corn thins. I speculated to my roommate that they would be a bit like very thin plain rice cakes and I could use them as a conduit to get other things (like cheese) into my mouth. I assumed they would taste a bit like cardboard. Well, it turns out that I was wrong. These things are the best. I want to know where to go buy 1,000 more! They were actually far more like like highly condensed popcorn than rice cakes light. I had a couple with peanut butter and I was sold!

Even River approves! Look at the pain I am causing her by not allowing her to eat these!

One final thing – I may have mentioned this before, but, if I haven’t, I heartily endorse Edy’s slow churned pumpkin patch ice cream. 90 calories and it tastes amazing! A perfect fall treat 🙂

One thought on “Food Friday

Leave a Reply

