Grocery Shopping

I have had a lovely weekend!

Yesterday, I played Settlers of Catan and a new to me game called Suburbia with my roommate and one of her friends. We enjoyed some wine and I enjoyed some super spicy chipotle salsa. It was spicy for me, so that meant that everyone else had to resort to medium – I can handle ridiculously spicy food. Like, I didn’t realize Indian food was spicy level of spice tolerance. We also went out for stir fry at Hu Hot (one of my favorite restaurants), where I again ate ridiculously spicy food. Yumm!

Today started out with a 5 mile trail run with one of my friends. I am always nervous about running with others, but then when I get out there I remember I like it. It can get boring out there by yourself sometimes. As I’ve said to Kris (and others) – I don’t think I’ll ever be able to train for a marathon until I have some regular running buddies, because I can’t imagine doing 18 or 20 mile runs alone! I also did some grocery shopping and baking today (there will be great things for Food Friday) and after a yummy steakhouse dinner (though we all had chicken, oops) I came home and watched some Twin Peaks with my roommate. We are about 2/3 of the way through the show and while we are sort of like “WTF” every 5 seconds we just can’t stop. WE MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENED.

One of the other things I did today was to go grocery shopping. Ever since I started eating at maintenance, I just cannot believe how much more food I buy. I used to be able to shop for myself for like $20/week! I spend especially more now that I work out all the time and have to eat even more food. I remember when I was making this painful transition last year, I just could not understand why my grocery bill seemed to have doubled…then I realized that I was literally eating twice as much food *facepalm.* I am trying to be a little more purposeful with my shopping, though – a major reason that I baked today was that I had 2 complete containers of cream cheese that I had NO IDEA what to do with. I thought it might be a nice exercise to go over everything I bought and see if I could connect a purpose with it and reflect on that a bit. FYI, this was about $40.

Produce

  • Baby carrots. For snacks and in lunches.
  • Sliced white mushrooms. To add to pastas, stir frys, and salads.
  • Butternut squash. To make some butternut squash black bean enchiladas!
  • Clementines. They are the seasonal fruit right now. I usually try to have at least one quick to eat fruit laying around for lunch or snacks.
  • Avocado. For wraps or salads or to put on my chili or something. It didn’t have a price but it so I just got one. I should have gotten more, they were 3/$5 and in great shape (hence me buying one without a price).

Dairy

  • Shredded cheddar cheese. I melt cheese like this on lots of things, so this something I pretty much always buy. I will probably put it on chili and some enchiladas I am going to make.
  • Greek yogurt. I got one container of the store brand organic greek yogurt to try. I’ll either have this as a quick breakfast or afternoon snack.

Frozen

  • Ice cream. I always like to have some for a go-to dessert, because I usually have at least one little dessert like this before bed.

Nuts

  • Emerald breakfast on the go. I like these for quick snacks to put in my desk. They are cheaper than Clif bars (though I might have ordered one of each of the seasonal flavors this week…) which is a plus. I got the maple flavor to try. So far I have tried breakfast blend and berry nut blend and I prefer breakfast blend.
  • Raw almonds. These are on sale right now, so I bought a pound. I experimented with making homemade almond butter and will probably try to make some flavored almonds. These replaced my Sam’s Club sized container of cocoa almonds I finished with my lunch today.

Grains

  • Oatmeal. I eat it for breakfast and bake with it. I got the gigantic-est one.
  • Bread. It’s bread, I don’t think it needs a justification. I usually get enough out for just a couple sandwiches and freeze the rest, and it lasts for weeks.

Canned Goods

  • Enchilada sauce. For the enchiladas.
  • Rotel. Also for the enchiladas.

Other? (AKA stuff I didn’t know where else to put)

  • Garlic hummus. For dipping carrots in and putting on wraps.
  • Cocoa powder. For the potential cocoa almonds.
  • Extra dark chocolate bar. I had a coupon that makes it free, so there was no reason not to buy it.

Evaluation: I really came out of there feeling like I had roamed around without a purpose and probably purchased too much stuff. After writing out my justifications, I think I did better than expected, though. I might not have needed ice cream because I baked a dessert, and I might not have NEEDED bread since I have leftover chili and will probably have leftover enchiladas to eat in lunches. I also may have bought slightly too many snacks, but I might also eat more snacks than I am admitting here.

Sorry if my grocery list was boring! I just really wanted this exercise in reflection. If you really want something to contrast this list with, a grocery list before I lost weight was more like:

  • 1 case of diet soda
  • Several (like 3) frozen pizzas
  • Tortilla chips
  • Queso dip
  • Cereal or yogurt (not greek) for breakfast
  • Lunchmeat/cheese/bread
  • Chips
  • Cookies
  • Ice cream

While I still eat all of these things (well, I rarely eat potato chips, they aren’t very filling so I only eat them at parties and stuff like that), keep in mind that this was my regular list and not my list of occasional additions (i.e. I have all the ingredients for nachos right now but they last for like, a month now). I think it is really telling that that list has no veggies and the only snacks are chips, cookies and nachos. Also, I find it interesting that I drink far less diet soda now that I am not trying to lose weight. Not that I drink regular soda or think that there is a problem with diet soda. I love diet soda (I’m a HUGE Coke Zero fan) I just don’t rely on drinking it at home because I drink so much more water now. I used to drink 3-4 cans a day because I didn’t really realize I could drink anything else! I would say one other major difference is that frozen pizza is less of a diet staple for me. This is probably more the result of me actually figuring out how to cook than me trying to be healthier, though (after all, they do make pizza with vegetables on it, apparently).

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Grocery Shopping

Leave a Reply

