Food Friday

Exciting event of the day:

  • Cinnamon crunch bagel from Panera
  • Er, I mean, 25 minute 5K!!

I haven’t done a 25 minute 5K in awhile, and I was going to run 4-5 miles today, but I decided to go for a one mile walk with River first, and was thinking I could reduce my running down to 3-4 miles due to the walk. I told myself that if I was going to reduce my mileage I would have to run hard, though. I ran my first half mile in under 4 minutes and thought…why don’t I try for a 25 minute 5K? I barely squeaked it in! 3.11 miles in 25:00 on the dot (no screencap from runkeeper because despite my watch saying 3.11 25:00 it imported 3.07 miles and 24 something minutes)! I would say by biggest limitation was my cardio fitness – my heart rate kept hitting max near the end and I was having trouble breathing! My legs don’t even hurt. I find this interesting consider all of the running I do and my lack of strength training. Also, my husband has the opposite problem. His legs hurt, but he has no trouble breathing. Interesting!

In other exciting news, I received these in the mail this week:

Yay for seasonal Clif bars! They don’t sell them anywhere around here except the bike shop and they were out. I was very happy when a deal to get one of each for $3 with free shipping came up on the company’s Twitter. I barely use Twitter, but I’m glad that I check it occasionally because I got these bars. I’ve only tried the pumpkin, and I ate it when ravenous and didn’t pay much attention, so I don’t know how they really taste yet. Expect an update soon!

I also tried two new “recipes” this week. Well, only one was really a recipe, but we’ll go with calling it that for now.

First: Pumpkin Cream Cheese Bars. I had 2 containers of cream cheese to use up, so I looked for a pumpkin cream cheese recipe. These are really good! They taste like pumpkin pie topped with oatmeal, basically. The only thing I don’t like is that I expected them as a bar to be more solid. They are very weak/crumbly so they aren’t really good for bars that you could like carry around or something. Also, warning: this recipe is not for beginners, as it involves making crust from scratch. Even though I have done this before, I still messed it up (almost forgot to put oatmeal in and baked it for 30 seconds before taking it out of the oven to mix it in, melting the butter).

 

I also made some homemade almond butter with the almonds I bought on sale. This turned out great! It was easy, but it takes a lot of patience. The person who wrote the “recipe” (more like instructions has a lot of great pictures, but I thought I’d add some of my own, too, so you can really believe this takes patience. Picture 2 is about 5 minutes in, and I swear it didn’t change in appearance for another 10 minutes! I almost gave up then started to see little liquidy spots and persevered! The final product took about 20 minutes. I used 1 cup of almonds just to experiment and ended up with about 1/2 – 3/4 cup of almond butter. I did stir a little sea salt into it at the end.

After only a few seconds of grinding. Already all chopped up!

After about 5 minutes. I was thinking I was almost done – it’s already clumping together!

The final product!

 

Leave a Reply

