Throwback Thursday – Thanksgiving Edition

In one week it will be Thanksgiving!

Kris and I are still planning to do our Turkey Trot, and I think I’m going to go out tonight and get some supplies to make these turkey hats. I was going to just buy some at Target, but they seem to have run out. The good thing is that I think I can make these with nothing but construction paper and cardboard, and they should fit over our winter hats, which we will need because mother nature hates me and there is supposed to be a high of 43 in Charlotte on Thanksgiving Day. My only concern is getting these into my luggage without smooshing them for my travels!

Lately I’ve been feeling kind of stuck fitness-wise. I’ve been hovering at the upper end of my normal weight range all semester, which I’ve whined about before, but that doesn’t mean it has become less frustrating. If I really think about why I’ve been stuck lately, it is probably because I’ve been pretty much in hardcore training mode all semester and I’ve made a lot of big changes. I’ve run two races, started bike commuting, and went straight from half-marathon training to weight training while maintaining 15-20 miles per week of running. I’m probably stuck because I haven’t had much of a break! Looking back also really helps me to remember that I’m not a complete failure at weight-loss maintenance, though, so I thought that with the holiday coming up, I’d look back at the last few Thanksgivings in order to remind myself of that.

Thanksgiving 2010 – my first year of grad school, and before I started losing weight (actually before I reached my highest weight, I think):

Sorry that pictures that I post of you are almost always unflattering, Kris 😦 I promise he doesn’t normally run around with his eyes closed! To be fair, this is a particularly bad picture of me as well – my hair is super frizzy! I think we had just woken up.

One year later – Thanksgiving 2011, about 6 months after I started losing weight:

See! Much better picture of us both. And an especially good picture of Belle! For a real fun comparison, I am wearing this same sweatshirt in my high weight photo on the progress pics page.

One year ago – Thanksgiving 2012. This is also the first year that Kris and I had our own Thanksgiving due to me having to work at Target on Black Friday. Note that I do not really look any different than I do now (which reassures me quite a bit). I also know that I have made huge fitness progress. Today I ran an “easy” 5K in 27 minutes; last November, the only 2 5K runs that I logged on Runkeeper were over 34 minutes each!

Cooking!

We made cornish hens, green beans, and sweet potatoes. And pie, but for some reason that isn’t pictured?

Hens!

 

Our awesome table ready for us to eat!

Leave a Reply

