Friend Makin’ Monday

Time for another Friend Makin’ Monday before I head out for Thanksgiving Break. Tonight my roomie and I will have a mini-Thanksgiving here and then tomorrow I fly to see my husband and pup. I am pretty excited!

What I am not excited about is how cold it has been here. Yesterday it was 17 degrees when my friend and I went running! Today it is a little “warmer” with a high around 32, but it was still cold enough that I am fairly certain I will be retiring my bike for the winter. I thought I could tough it out but I guess I’m a wimp (I still beat you, Kris!). At least I’m not at my parents’ house – they got over 2 feet of snow and are expecting 6 inches more! If there is anything I hate more than cold, it is snow. Sorry that I rant about the weather all the time, but basically I will never be happy unless I live somewhere that is 65 and sunny 24/7.

6de13-wpid-friend-makin-monday-for-post3-300x179

If you’ve taken part in FMM then you know the rules. If you’re new, please take a moment to answer this week’s question on your own blog then add your link in the comments section here at: www.alltheweigh.com so we can all see your FMM questions and answers. Please invite your blog readers to add their links here too so everyone has to opportunity to be seen. The idea is to connect with other awesome bloggers so take a moment to post your own FMM post and comment on a couple of other posts. Now it’s time for this week’s topic!

  The Holidays and More: Part 2

1.  What state/country do you live in?  Pennsylvania/Indiana

2.  Where were you born?  Were you raised there?  I was born and raised in a small town in Western PA. Let’s just say I get mildly offended when I’m watching Orange is the New Black because the one character is named “Pennsatucky” and I have always referred lovingly to my region as “Pennsyltucky.”

3.  How do you feel about stores like Wal-mart opening on Thanksgiving Day for pre-Black Friday sales?  Will you participate?  I think it is awful, but in the grand scheme of things it is just one part of the horrifying system we have for service workers in the US. In many other countries low-paying, no benefits (including no vacation or sick pay EVER) jobs like this would be considered absurd. I’m not sure as consumers we can do anything to keep companies from opening – it is unrealistic to think that literally no one will go out and help them bring in their revenues. What we should REALLY be fighting for is reform for part-time/low-wage employee rights if we want to make an actual difference. Note: I want to add that I am saying this as a person who volunteered (but was not selected) to work on Thanksgiving last year. I don’t think it’s inherently wrong. The problem is that in our current system where workers like I was are completely dependent on these jobs where they have almost no rights, you can never be sure who is really “volunteering.” Plus, some stores (like the store where my mother in law works) make everyone work. I won’t be shopping on Thanksgiving.

4.  Have you ever participated in a Turkey Trot?  Kris and I are doing our first Turkey Trot this year. I’m super excited!

5.  What was your favorite toy as a child? Barbies. I had hundreds. I’m not exaggerating. I literally had like 3 full-sized suitcases (how I stored them) full. I might have been spoiled.

6.  Will you count points/calories on Thanksgiving Day?  No. It is one of the few times a year where you can say “it’s just one day” (unlike all the work parties, celebrations, etc). Plus, I think it takes away something special from the holiday if you are ignoring your family and friends to plug calories into your phone. If you want more detail see my post on days that don’t “count.”

7.  Will you watch football Thursday?  If it is one I will probably watch it. I think last time I was around a TV on Thanksgiving I painfully sat through “The Phantom Menace” just because it was on and I had nothing else to do, so it can’t get much worse.

8.  Do you decorate inside/outside of your home for the holidays?  Kris and I are expanding our decorations year by year. We used to just have a tree, now we have a tree and several indoor things. I even made us stockings last year!

 I think we may have tried to hang lights last year and found that there weren’t any outside outlets? Maybe I’ll put some inside of our windows on the front of the house, though, and put out a wreath or something. I like decorating, I just don’t have much time or many decorations.

9.  Do you have allergies that prevent you from eating traditional holiday meals? Nope, but I do have allergies that prevent me from using traditional holiday decorations – I’m allergic to pine! We can therefore only have artificial trees and wreaths 😦

10.  Is it snowing where you live?  Not yet!

Now it’s your turn to answer this week’s questions.  Don’t forget to come back and link up in the comments.  We had some new FMM-ers last week so let’s be sure to make them feel welcome this week!  Happy Monday, friends!

2 thoughts on “Friend Makin’ Monday

    • Thanks, glad you think the stockings are cute! Also, it is always nice to have people from FMM!

      Being allergic to pine is AWFUL. I didn’t realize why I had such bad allergies in the winter until I was a teen and had allergy testing and we found the culprit. My mom didn’t like caring for real trees so we never had one at home and therefore never realized what the problem was. Lucky for me I guess that we never had one to make me miserable!

Leave a Reply

