Liebster “Award”

My friend Amanda’s blog (check it out, it’s awesomely geeky) was recently nominated for a Liebster Award, and she chose to nominate me as well. Thanks, Amanda!

Her blog has a great description of how the award works, but the short version is that relatively new bloggers nominate other relatively new bloggers. The rules loosely state that you need to answer a set of questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you, then come up with a list of your own questions and pass those on to other bloggers who you nominate.

I’m not going to pass this along (which means I am breaking the rules for the award, hence the quotes in the title), mostly because I feel like the blogs I read are already pretty well established or I don’t feel like I interact with those who do have a small blog enough to be non-awkward about nominating them, but I thought it would be fun – and challenging – to answer the questions she passed on to me:

  1. If you were trapped inside a video game for the rest of your life, which game would you want it to be? Honestly, getting stuck in a video game doesn’t sound that appealing. The Sims? Someone would drown me or set me on fire! Civilization? Gandhi nukes me. These all sound way to much like things that could happen in the real world (i.e. random world leaders nuking you, not specifically Gandhi!) so I think I’d rather stay here where I at least won’t have my entire world cease to function because somebody left a plate on the floor.
  2. Which spaceship would you like to explore the universe in? I don’t know if I’m geeky enough to answer this question. I can only think of like, 4 spaceship names. I guess the Enterprise would be pretty cool so I could use the holodeck  (I am sure I spelled that wrong) and replicate myself tons of cookies.
  3. What do you know now that you wish you knew when you started your blog? How much work it is! I barely put any work into my blog – I just do it for my own enjoyment – and it still takes HOURS per week! I used to think that blogging was something anyone could pick up and do well at.
  4. If you could have any mythical animal as a friend/pet/companion, what would it be and why? The only mythical animal I can think of off the top of my head is a unicorn, so I am pleading with Kris for help with this question. He just brought me a stack of D&D books. I’m not sure whether to be amused or concerned. The first page had scary monsters. Now there are dragons. Dragons are pretty cool, I guess. A lot of these things aren’t even animals. Oh! A hippogriff! I know what that is from Harry Potter! I’ll pick it for nostalgic purposes. I also perked up at “pegasus,” so I guess I like flying things that I can ride.
  5. What fictional world is your home away from home? I think I would enjoy living in the Shire, as long as the rest of Middle Earth leaves it alone. I could live in a nice little hole in the ground and eat all day.
  6. If you could be any fictional character for a day, who would it be? This one is difficult for me, mostly because I don’t really have a favorite “character.” I really don’t know. Sorry for the cop-out on this question.
  7. What daily (or semi-daily) activity/chore do you wish you could get by without doing? It would be really nice if I didn’t have to constantly clean up pet hair.
  8. What is your number one pet peeve? HOW TO PICK?! Let’s go with watching people use computers differently than I do, even if the way they are using it isn’t really less efficient (and especially if it is).
  9. If you had to pick an apocalypse, which one would you pick? Everyone dies of a superbug. I almost never get sick, so I guess I get to live through this one. Also, no ongoing apocalypse to deal with (i.e. zombies, though I feel fairly prepared for that particular apocalypse). Once people die, it’s mostly done. Let’s just hope it doesn’t turn out like The Stand.
  10. What job did you want as a kid? What job would you want if you didn’t have to worry about making a living? As a kid I wanted to be a country music singer! Haha, I don’t even listen to country music at all now. If I didn’t have to worry about money I wouldn’t have a “job,” per se – I’d pursue passions instead. I’d travel around running races; I’d attempt to write a book; I’d study different subjects I was interested in; I’d work on improving my sewing skills. Yes, all of these can technically be jobs, but none of them are a dream job I’d dedicate myself to or anything.
  11. What is your favorite color, and what is your favorite nerdy thing corresponding to that color? Pink. Are there pink nerdy things? I’m honestly not sure.
2 thoughts on “Liebster “Award”

Leave a Reply

