Food Friday

This week’s post will be a discussion of food “failures.” This week was so weird – everything I tried to make had SOMETHING wrong with it, though in no cases was it a complete failure.

Monday: Attempted to make lasagna. I had planned to do this, as Kris randomly said “hey, why don’t we get ricotta cheese?” at the store and I realized we had all of the ingredients except zucchini, which I ran to buy. However, when I got home, I discovered that the “giant container” of lasagna noodles had only 6 noodles in it; parts of the top 2 layers were made with spaghetti instead.

Tuesday: Started making coconut-peanut Thai curry only to find that I was “out” of red curry paste. That’s ok – I’ll improvise – after all, I had all of the ingredients for curry paste on hand! After putting my half-ass curry paste mix into the sauce, I look over to see the curry paste. I had put it somewhere “clever” while preparing to cook. It turned out ok in the end, as there was only about 2 teaspoons of paste in the jar in the first place. The curry was a bit too spicy for Kris, though šŸ˜¦

Random morning I don’t fully remember because it was pre-coffee: put 3/4 of a cup instead of half of a cup of liquid into my oatmeal and it was really really really gross šŸ˜¦

The good news: I only had to cook 2 days since I made lasagna!

I actually had another relatively major fail this week: my first attempt to go to the company gym. Yesterday, it was very cold and windy and I had some errands to run after work, so I planned on heading back into work to use the treadmill. When I got there, I couldn’t find the locker room at first. Then, I decided to go change in the “bathroom” (note: the gym is not on my floor, so I am unfamiliar with this floor’s layout). For some inexplicable reason the “bathroom” had a secure entrance requiring me to scan my ID, which I thought was weird…until I walked in and discovered it was a completely unmarked locker room in a different hallway than the gym! The worst part: I couldn’t even work out at the gym because I forgot my sports bra and had to go home; I ended up just doing a workout video.

I guess I’ll try again next week! After all, next week is going to present a new challenge: balancing overtime and working out. My job is in a completely new division of the company, and very little of the work was being done before we arrived (due to lack of manpower); therefore, we are a few months behind where we need to be and will be working mandatory overtime until we are caught up. It looks like I’m going to have several nights of working until 7-9, meaning I will have to hit up the gym afterwards if I want to get a workout in. Let’s just hope I don’t resort to too much takeout and too many frappucinos in the meanwhile!


Oh – I do want to end today by notingĀ a change of plans: I will not be running the 10 mile race I had planned to this weekend, despite my weeks of training (even in the ice and snow!). My grandfather is unfortunately very ill in the hospital, so I will be going out of town to visit my family. At least I hadn’t paid for the race yet, and it still had the positive side effect of forcing me to get my ass back outside and running! I’m not sure what my next race will be – the next one I had consideredĀ is a half on April 6, and I don’t think I’m prepared for that (the longest I’ve run this month was 9 miles, and I missed a run this week). A lot of the other races I had been thinking about aren’t until October; are too difficult/too soon; or they are sold out. I’m sure I’ll find something soon, though!

Leave a Reply

