“Positive” Splits

In running, the term “negative splits” refers to running each mile (or whatever measurement your “split” is, i.e. 400m) faster than the previous mile. It isn’t necessarily a “good” or  “bad” thing to do this – it’s just one workout method.

Lately, however, I haven’t felt very “positive” about my splits – I start out great, at a pace I am more used to running, especially now that it is fall, and then apparently I just can’t keep it up.

These are screenshots of the splits from some of my 3-5 mile runs over the last 2 weeks. As you can see, I start out great, sometimes running less than 9:00/mile for the first mile…and then I apparently just can’t keep up the pace. I just get slower and slower and slower (or, I go fast then slow then fast then slow). I know that I’m not really THAT slow, but in comparison to my running abilities at this time last year, it is difficult to see that going out at an 8:45/mile pace is “too fast” – I’ve run entire half marathons at a faster pace!!!

I’m really trying to figure out why it is that I am struggling so much with running lately. I’ve been working out 5 days a week, even making sure to get 12,000 steps on rest days. I haven’t lost weight but I also haven’t gained weight, so I think I am eating an appropriate amount. The only thing I can really think of is that I am running after work, and am therefore worn out by the time I go running. I *might* be switching to morning runs for the fall/winter, though, so we will have to see if that helps.


In an attempt to stay positive despite my apparently declining running abilities, here are a some positive things that have happened over the last week:

  • Yesterday, Kris and I went to bike around Gettysburg. We went at the beginning of the summer, and at that time, we had to stop and walk up several hills and completely skipped little round top (it is a very hilly route compared to anything else we ride). Yesterday, we rode up not just little round top, but also big round top (one right after the other). I am happy to report that we walked up none of the hills, in fact!

Side note: The fitbit thinks hills are stairs. It thinks I climbed over 80 flights of stairs yesterday, and that I climbed 25 of them in 15 minutes.

  • PUMPKIN!! It’s everywhere. I am so happy. I might have bought both pumpkin M&M’s and pumpkin bagels today.
  • Pants! I found some pants! That fit over my thighs! I got a pair of skinny ankle length dress pants at JCP, and a pair of normal pants on clearance at Banana Republic. Now I won’t freeze (as much). Still haven’t found fleece lined tights, though…
2 thoughts on ““Positive” Splits

Leave a Reply

